Like to write? You Can Help!

In many cases, I suspect, I know at least as much about our ancestors as anyone else living today. This is especially true in the case of those who have passed out of living memory; those people none of us had the chance to meet.

In other cases, I have no doubt that some of you have stories and recollections about which I know nothing. Sure, I have raw facts: when and where relatives were born, their profession, when they died. Perhaps occasionally I uncover a family scandal, long suppressed and forgotten. But that, in isolation, does not an interesting entry make.

On the other hand, some of those who have passed away more recently may be quite well-known to you, far more so than I ever will know them through my research. And so, I wish to invite everyone to write a short biography of these good people.

Here are some guidelines:

  • Nothing about living people without their express consent. If you want to write about yourself, or your mom doesn’t mind her story being placed out there, I’m great with that. Otherwise, off limits.
  • The person needs to be a common relative. Unless you’re my sibling or parent, you have some ancestors and cousins who aren’t related to me. I have no doubt that they were fascinating people, and more than worthy of reverence, but those stories will have to be published in another venue.
  • No worries if you don’t think you write well enough. If I can do it, you can too. If you CAN write well *cough*Hannah*cough*, you get double encouragement. 🙂
  • Shoot for at least 500 words, 1000 are better. But use whatever space you need. Electrons are cheap.

You’ll get full credit (/blame), of course. 🙂 Let’s see who can add to this growing blog!

Leave a Reply

